We invest in people
Joint Research
We invest in people
Joint Research

Joint Professors and Appointments

The University of Bonn and BORA members have a large number of joint professorships. Some professorships were established through joint appointments. The focus of joint professorships is on research, teaching and the management of working groups at the university.


joint appointments


joint professorships


BORA institutions involved

Press Releases


Clara Brandi appointed as Professor for International Economics & Development Economics

In a joint appointment process between the University of Bonn and the German Institute of Development and Sustainability (IDOS), Dr. Clara Brandi has been appointed Professor of International Economics/Development Economics in the Department of Economics.

Berufung Hornidge_Barbara Frommann Uni Bonn.jfif
© Barbara Frommann / Universität Bonn

University of Bonn and IDOS recruit knowledge sociologist Anna-Katharina Hornidge

In March 2020 Professor Anna-Katharina Hornidge has accepted the Professorship of Global Sustainable Development at the University of Bonn and has been appointed Director of the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) (now IDOS).

Die Ernennung von Jason Kerr.jpeg
© caesar: Sebastian Scherrer

Jason Kerr appointed as Professor for Behavior & Brain Organization

In 2019 caesar director Jason Kerr was appointed W3 professor for „Behavior and Brain Organization”, joining the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. The rector of the university, Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael Hoch, personally handed over the certificate of appointment.

Joint Appointments at a Glance

© Fraunhofer SCAI

Prof. Dr. Marc Alexander Schweitzer

Deputy Director Fraunhofer SCAI
(former Fraunhofer IMWS)

Institute for Numerical Simulation

© Fraunhofer SCAI

Prof. Dr. Jochen Garcke

Head of Business Area Numerical Data-Driven Prediction, Fraunhofer SCAI

Institute for Numerical Simulation
Professor for Numerics

© Fraunhofer SCAI

Prof. Dr. Martin Hofmann-Apitius

Head of Business Area Bioinformatics, Fraunhofer SCAI

Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology (B-IT)
Professor for Applied Life Science Informatics

© Fraunhofer FKIE

Prof. Dr. Michael Meier

Abteilungsleiter, Abteilung Cyber-Security, Fraunhofer FKIE

Institute of Computer Science 4
Professor for IT-Security

© Fraunhofer IAIS

Prof. Dr. Rafet Sifa

Head of Department Media Engineering,
Fraunhofer IAIS

Professor of Applied Machine Learning

© Fraunhofer IAIS

Prof. Dr. Stefan Wrobel

Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems IAIS

Institute of Computer Science
Professor of Computer Science

© Fraunhofer IAIS

Prof. Dr. Christian Bauckhage

Lead Scientist for Machine Learning, Fraunhofer IAIS

Institute of Computer Science
Professor of Computer Science (Pattern Recognition)

Pierluigi-Nicotera_CR Tatjana Kurda.jpg
© DZNE / Kurda

Prof. Dr. Dr. Pierluigi Nicotera

Scientific Director and Group Leader, DZNE

Research Focus: Synaptic Connectivity and Neurodegeneration

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Tony Stöcker

Group Leader, DZNE

Research Focus: MR Physics
Professor for Medical Physics


© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Martin Fuhrmann

Group Leader, DZNE

Faculty of Medicine
Professor for Neuroimmunology and Imaging

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Ina Maja Vorberg

Group Leader, DZNE

Research Focus: Prion Cell Biology

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Thomas Klockgether

Director of the Clinical Research, DZNE

Faculty of Medicine
Professor and Chair of Neurology

© DZNE / Westhoff

Prof. Dr. Dr. Monique Breteler

Director of Population Health Sciences, DZNE

Institute for Medical Biometry, Informatics and Epidemiology (IMBIE)
Professor of Population Health Sciences

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Gabor Petzold

Group Leader, DZNE 

Research Focus: Vascular Neurology

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Anja Schneider

Group Leader, DZNE & Director of Geriatric Psychiatry, UKB

Research Focus: Translational Dementia Research

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Frank Bradke

Group Leader, DZNE

Research Focus: Axon Growth and Regeneration

© DZNE / Frommann

Prof. Dr. Joachim L. Schultze

Director Systems Medicine, DZNE

Research Focus: Clinical Single Cell Omics (CSCO) /Systems Medicine

© LIB, Kokott

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof

Director, Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB), Research Museum Koenig

Chair and Professor for Systematic Zoology

© LIB, Geiger

Prof. Dr. Christoph Scherber

Head of Centre for Biodiversity Monitoring), LIB, Research Museum Koenig

Professor for Biodiversity Monitoring

© LIB, Meusemann

Prof. Dr. Alexander Suh

Head of Centre for Molecular Biodiversity Research (zmb), LIB, Research Museum Koenig

Professor for Molecular Biodiversity


Prof. Dr. Jason Kerr

Managing Director & Director of the Department Behavior and Brain Organization, MPINB

Faculty of Medicine
Professor for Behavior and Brain Organization


Prof. Dr. Conrad Schetter

Director, bicc

Professor for Peace and Conflict Studies


Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Hornidge

Director, IDOS

Institute of Political Science and Sociology
Professor for Global Sustainable Development


Prof. Dr. Clara Brandi

Head of Programme, IDOS

Institute for International Economic Policy
Professor for International Economics / Development Economics 

Joint Professorships

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Engel, Director and Scientific Member,  Max Planck Institute for Collective Goods (MPI Collective Goods)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Scholze, Hausdorff Chair at the University of Bonn, Scientific Member and Managing Director, Max-Planck-Institut for Mathematics (MPIM) 
  • Prof. Dr. Karl M. Menten, Director and Scientific Member, Max Planck Institut for Radio Astronomy (MPIfR)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Kramer, Director and Scientific Member, Max Planck Institut for Radio Astronomy (MPIfR)
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Wägele, Head of Section, Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change, Research Museum Koenig, 
    apl Professor at the University of Bonn

Prof. Dr. Zita Sebesvari, Deputy Director of the United Nations University, Institute of Environment and Human Security (UNU-EHS), Honorary Professor, University of Bonn, Faculty of Agriculture

Read also

Professorships in GER

In the German science system, there are a variety of different professorships. Here you can find out what they are and how they differ.


When a professorship is advertised, tenure-track means being promised a lifetime professorship after a limited probationary period and successful evaluation.

Dual Career

With the Dual Career Network Rhineland, the universities of Bonn, Düsseldorf and Cologne as well as the Research Center Jülich organize a joint service offer for career couples in science.

Wird geladen